It’s Been a While

fishing rodIt has been nearly 2 months since I wrote anything for this blog. I haven’t given up the keyboard though, nor have I given up fishing… I have just been busy with work, away for a fishing trip, and giving my future a lot of deep thought.

Working the Shutdown

I’m an industrial maintenance contractor (sub-contractor) so December and January is traditionally  a busy period: Factory staff often have leave this time of year, and a lot of industries shut parts of their plants for maintenance. So this is a busy time of the year for the us.

Fishing the North Coast

Into the second last week of January, work had become slow as always, so Jen and I took the opportunity to take a needed three week holiday in KZN. I have lot’s to tell about this in the coming months; hot weather, fishing, travel, sightseeing, more fishing.

Other things undertaken during this trip included a number of discussions with other fishermen, over braaivleis and beer about some possible work ideas related to fishing

My Future Career

When I started writing this blog, one of my first posts mentioned I had my sights set on a change in direction. I am now well into my fourties, and the time has come to decide how I want to spend the next 20 years of my working life.

I don’t see myself continuing much longer in the sub-contracting game. I take a too hands-on approach to sit back and become a desk-jockey, and would find that terribly boring. So I have had to do some very careful thinking about what I want to do, what I can do, and what opportunities exist.

With this in mind, after Jen returned to her office job, I spent more time travelling, ending up in Gauteng for nearly 2 weeks, discussing an idea I had come up with – (Jen jokingly suggested I take this path), with another keen fisherman…

Read my next few articles to see why I want to change, and what I am thinking about doing…

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

